New officers for Sonoma Valley Fund

Barbara Young has been elected Board President of Sonoma Valley Fund, an affiliate of Community Foundation Sonoma County.  Joining her as newly elected executive officers are Joshua Rymer as vice president and Tom Haeuser as secretary and treasurer. Young succeeds Harriet Derwingson, a founding member of Sonoma Valley Fund, who has led this all-volunteer affiliate group for the past two years. Derwingson will remain on the board of directors as past president.

“I can’t say enough about the broad vision and superb leadership Harriet brought to Sonoma Valley Fund during her tenure as president,” said Young.  “There are so many accomplishments she engineered, including partnerships in support of 21 local nonprofits, creation and initial planning for our upcoming ‘Endow Sonoma Valley Month,’ and the awarding of over $200,000 in grants and scholarships within our community.”

In another move, Sonoma Valley Fund directors unanimously elected board member Whitney Evans of Sonoma as president emeritus.  As the new title was bestowed on Evans, Derwingson described him as “the brainpower and central figure behind the creation of Sonoma Valley Fund six years ago and someone who continues to inspire and challenge all of us to build a strong culture of legacy giving in the Valley.” Evans’ long record of community service was also recently recognized by the City of Sonoma, which named him Sonoma Alcalde for 2012.

In addition to Young, Derwingson, Rymer, Haeuser, and Evans, other Sonoma Valley Fund Board Members are Joe Aaron, Peggy Bair, Karen Collins, Tony Garcia, Susan Hoeffel, Manuel Merjil, Steve Pease, Martha Rosenblatt and Scott Smith.                

Comments are closed.